Dazed, Editorial

Mask

Marios Schwab

What was the inspiration behind your mask? How did you arrive at your solution to the brief?
I looked at formations of crystal fissures. I wanted something organic and lucid

What do you think is the most interesting thing about wearing a mask?

I like the element of eccentricity of hiding your face by decorating it. I wanted to create something morph-like.

What does the term “anti-fashion” mean to you?
I don’t like imposing or dictating what someone should wear and I don’t like themes either.

If you were Dr Frankenstein today what would you create?
I think everyone needs a money machine at the moment !

What was your favourite unwanted thing used to make the mask?
The Swarovski Crystallized Elements that were left over from the A/W 09 collection.

________________________________________________________________

Gareth Pugh

What was the inspiration behind your mask? How did you arrive at your solution to the brief?
Well the brief was- make a mask out of some stuff lying around in your studio, so we did just that, I had a rummage, and found some metal rings that we had left over from a project, and we had some strips of black leather from my S/S 08 collection where we did a lot of fringe, so I decided to go with that- I rarely throw anything away- I always try to hold onto everything just in case it will come in handy further down the line, so we had a lot of things we could have used, but the mask is very similar to some ideas we have been working on recently, and I didnt want it to look too busy- too many ideas going on, so we kept it very focused and minimal, and went with these two components – metal and leather.

What do you think is the most interesting thing about wearing a mask?
Becoming someone else.

How would the person wearing your mask feel?
Blind!?

What does the term “anti-fashion” mean to you?
Im not sure if I believe in anti fashion- it all becomes part of the machine at the end of the day.

If you were Dr Frankenstein today what would you create?
I would have to make myself a cross between an accountant, seamstress,cleaner, personal assistant, fit model, and cook, so they could do my VAT returns, while sewing up a frock, while they sweep the floor, while they book me a car to the airport, while they try on the frock they’re sewing up, while they knock me up a nice roast chicken dinner… it would certainly help to take off a bit of weight off!

_________________________________________________________________


HUSSEIN CHALAYAN

“This is an extension of inertia – a moment frozen in speed.”

___________________________________________________________

Roberto Cavalli

What was the inspiration behind your mask? How did you arrive at your solution to the brief?
I was inspired by my A/W09 Collection for this mask. I found elements like studs,metal mesh,zips, that I applied on a found carnival mask from a party at my villa a few years ago. I wanted to create something strong and visually arresting without being grotesque or macabre: As in Frankenstein I try to make a clone however instead of blood I used diamonds and metal mesh and leather instead of skin.

What do you think is the most interesting thing about wearing a mask?
A mask is mysterious it hides a face and an identity. It asks to be removed to be discovered and conquered, a women should feel strong sensuous and in control.

What does the term “anti-fashion” mean to you?
For me, antifashion means to be individual, unique, discover, create a style and stick to it.

If you were Dr Frankenstein today what would you create?
If I was Dr. Frankenstein I would try to clone myself

What was your favourite unwanted thing used to make the mask?
Metal mesh leather and studs left over from my winter collection.

__________________________________________________________________

Martin Margiela

What was the inspiration behind your mask? How did you arrive at your solution to the brief?
Our mask is the combination of cut outs of white fabrics, left-overs from the fabrics we use to make our furniture covers; different shades and fabrics of whites assembled to structure a face. The result is quite extreme, as the recomposed face is very angular and un-natural. We wanted the mask to ressemble a human face, yet giving it a shape and structure that would be very un-human.

What do you think is the most interesting thing about wearing a mask?
Our models often have their faces covered in what could be considered as masks. The purpose is to draw the attention on the garment, the body and the movement of the two together. This mask is quite different, as when worn, the attention will be on the face.

What does the term “anti-fashion” mean to you?
Not much honestly ! any ‘anti’ movement or concept is quite far from what we stand for.

If you were Dr Frankenstein today what would you create?
A cure for skin cancer.

What was your favourite unwanted thing used to make the mask?
The lack of air.

______________________________________________________________

Peter Pilotto

What was the inspiration behind your mask? How did you arrive at your solution to the brief?
We wanted to create a sort of fossilized creature.

What do you think is the most interesting thing about wearing a mask?
You can hide your expressions and reactions – we thought that it is quite important to hide the eyes too as leaving them visible would be almost too revealing, not hidden enough and allow to read from them….

If you were Dr Frankenstein today what would you create?
A new creature with a new shape of body for new chances and challenges…

What was your favourite unwanted thing used to make the mask?
We used left-overs from our AW09 collection.

______________________________________________________________

RICCARDO TISCI

What was the inspiration behind your mask? How did you arrive at your solution to the brief?
I used elements that I found lying around the studio playing with the contrast between real rubbish like cigarette butts sprayed black and broken glass to more noble and precious ‘couture’ materials like the geometric jet black crystals that I love so much.

What do you think is the most interesting thing about wearing a mask?
For me the idea of a mask is not about hiding something but about liberation and having the freedom to play with your personality; the extremes of your character and how you interact with others.
I feel that there is also this kind of folkloristic side to masks…the story telling angle which inspired my mask, as well. I imagine that this could be the character from some dark gothic tale.

CREDITS

Photography Daniel Jackson
Styling Karen Langley
Hair Teddy Charles for Orlo Salon
Make-Up Lisa Houghton at Jed Root
Manicurist Rica Romain at See Management
Model Guinevere at IMG
Photographic Assistants Karen Goss, Nadya Wasylko, Jerome Corpuz
Styling Assistants Nelma Kalonji, Louise Hall-Strutt
Hair Assistant Dave Sharif

Original Dazed Digital

xxx

Juliet

I think this is so amazing and beautiful.

Standard

3 thoughts on “Mask

Leave a Reply

