style icon

icon at young

source: TFS
Alexa Chung, who made her name in the entertainment industry through her jobs as a television host/presenter, actress and model, is originally from Privett, Hampshire where she was born to an English mother and Chinese father.
Chung was approached in the comedy tent at Reading Festival at the age of 16 by Jane Duval, the influential British scout and was taken on by the London-based Storm Model Management. She modelled for teen magazines such as Elle Girl and CosmoGIRL! and appeared in adverts for products including Fanta, Sony Ericsson, Sunsilk and Tampax. She also modelled for Urban Outfitters. She appeared in music videos for artists including The Streets, Westlife, Delta Goodrem, Reuben and Holly Valance and starred as Jake in a scripted reality show called Shoot Me, broadcast on Fashion TV in 2005.
Her first step into the world of television came in 2003 when she landed the role of Jake on the Fashion TV reality series “Shoot Me!” (2003). Since then Alexa Chung has made a name for herself as a likeable television announcer on programs such as “Popworld” (2006), “Get a Grip” (2007), “8 out of 10 Cats” (2007), “Big Brother’s Little Brother” (2007), “Freshly Squeezed” (2007), “Vanity Lair” (2008)”, “T4 on the Beach 2008”, “Gok’s Fashion Fix” (2008), “The Wall” (2008). Most recently she hosted MTV’s It’s On with Alexa Chung in the United Kingdom, which was cancelled after its last airing on 17 December 2009.
“Popworld”, a weekly morning show she co-hosted with MTV’s Alex Zane on the UK’s Channel 4 network, proved a major launching pad for Alexa, gaving her an opportunity to to showcase her witty banter and sassy pop culture commentary. (The show was canceled in July of 2007.) Along with the “Popworld” series, Alexa Chung presented a radio-version of the program (also with Alex Zane) that received a Bronze Music prize from Sony Radio Academy Awards.
After becoming a famous TV personality, Chung made a return to occasional modelling. In 2008, she was the face of both Australian fashion label Antipodium‘s SS 2008 collection and Oxfam‘s ethical fashion range, Revamped. In September 2008, Chung walked the catwalk as part of the Vivienne Westwood Red Label Spring/Summer 2009 show at London Fashion Week. In early 2009, she became the face of British high street giant New Look. Chung then joined London-based modelling agency, Select, and, in April 2009, she modelled Wren‘s Holiday 2009 collection, alongside her friend Tennessee Thomas. In July 2009, Chung moved to Next Model Management and became the face of DKNY Jeans. And now in January 2010, she is the main model of the SS10 Pepe Jeans London campaign.
Not to say to the least between all this her sense of fashion has evoled to another level and she has a strong fan camp. Few things she has said:

“I’m obsessed with nautical things and it has gold buttons with anchors on. It makes me feel a bit like a sailor, or a public schoolboy, which is my favourite look in the whole world.”


“I don’t like to look too neat. On TV I wear dresses mostly. If I’m not wearing a dress, then I’m always wearing jeans and band T-shirts. I have doubles of everything because I keep buying the same thing.”

“I prefer it when I look like a boy to when I have to dress up like a girl.”

“My life is one ongoing shopping trip. I can always manage to find something to buy – if I’m in an airport, I’ll buy one of those dog-breed bags or something. Yesterday I bought a hat. When I leave my house to get a coffee, I end up wandering into a nearby vintage shop and buying something I don’t really need, or already have.”
xxx

Juliet
Standard

18 thoughts on “icon at young

  1. Oh how sweet. no joke, can´t understand why everybody likes her?! Is it just to follow the crowd. Well, i don´t like following the crowd, so I say it now: I don´t like Alexa Chung!F*** off, Alexa Chung!Sorry to all her (nasty :D) fans, it isn´t meant mean.. It´s just that I DON´T like her :D :D

  2. Such an interesting read… Lots of things I didn't know. I so see what she says about shopping. Once you've made the decision to enter the store… it gets super tricky not to fall… for something little, new, lovely… I just might end up doing that today for pink nail polish… Oops! Have a strawberry sweet week my fashionable dear!

Leave a Reply

