fashion week, spring/summer 2011

NYFW SS11 Part 7

What a beautiful layout! I love that we got one grey collection also from New York and from such a wonderful brand like Badgley Mischka. They always tend to be super feminine and there is also the glam part. Also, this collection, like the ones before it, is sexy.

Bravo! I love the structured cuts, I love the fur detailing, which are done so well and didn’t end up looking at all like most fur detailing does – old fashioned. The whole collection is so fresh and lively with the materials and cut-outs. I think the styling and the beauty were both spot on. And I really really really want a dress like that!

Diesel is rock n´ roll, no matter what. And they seem to be the almost only one this round. Everyone else has gone more romantic, subtle and feminine way and for that Diesel stands out so much, and when it’s like this it doesn’t look all that good. Yes, the collection is nice, practical and the styling of it seems to have a bit of  “worn out/dusty” look in it. Unfortunately I have to say that my favorite part of this collection is that Kirsti Pyrhönen modeled for them (the last pic).

Could this collection be any different from DKNY? not much! Where as DKNY was preppy and sweet, this collection is clearly for grown ups only, sophistiquated and so warm. It may not be for me, but I can so easily imagine my mom in pieces from this collection (or what do you think, mom?).

Carolina Herrera is such a classic and elegant fashion house. I love love love those flower prints (last photo) , I think this collection is very smart, business-suitable, and fancy. The hats are nice on runway, but for me a bit overboard.

(source: elle.com)

Curve shapes seemed to be at least part of the inspiration and theme. I like the fact that the look has been kept simpl, The white is so calming and surprise surprise gets a big plus from me.

xxx


Juliet

Follow 


Standard

11 thoughts on “NYFW SS11 Part 7

  1. Badgeley Mischka rock my world! And I'm liking the look of the Dennis Bassa collection.Usually I love Carolina Herrera, but to be honest, this isn't really doing much for me.Must be so difficult being a designer…Romanyxx

  2. I'm only just seeing the collection from Badgley Mischka and Dennis Bassa, and I absolutely love it! The colour palette and silhouetttes are great!

Leave a Reply

