Vintage

How to take care of vintage

Basics:

The best thing about vintage clothing in my opinion is that it’s unique. And has a sense of detailing that can’t be found in modern clothes. The low point of it is naturally the price -if you don’t have the time and opportunity to thrift yourself.  For some it can be hard to wear vintage (I’ll admit I belong to this group) without feeling that you’re wearing a costume. To some point it can be fun and worth the excitement, but when you see a mannequin of some certain era looking back at you at the mirror you usually know it’s gone too far. Famous people talk about taking the clothes to tailor, but with a student budget like mine it means a DIY project. Or if you’re not up for it maybe just offer it for a friend who could make it work.

Washing and drying:

I wouldn’t dare ever wash my vintage in modern washing machine. I know from experience that vintage clothes tend to fade in color easily in every wash -not just the first one like we’re used to. That’s why I wash them all by hands, separately. I think one can never be too careful with things like this. The drying can be difficult, but unless the fabric doesn’t stretch itself I dry them like all my other clothes -just hang them, but NOT in the sunlight! I don’t own a drying machine, and don’t think it’s a good idea specially with vintage. If you have the time and space, let them dry naturally.

Storing: 

Storing the clothes in the correct way means that they’ll survive another decade. When storing the items, either hang up in closet, in a garment bag or with a padded coat hanger, to prevent excessive strain on the material. Or if you plan to store the clothing away for a long period of time, try to avoid (if you can, I unfortunately can’t) having to use moth balls, as they may stain the material or leave them with a constant odor that is difficult to remove. Instead find an air-tight container, but pull the items out regularly to make sure they are storing well.



Worth the price? 

Sometimes I go crazy with vintage. I can admit that I have spend crazy amounts of money on pieces that even I would have known how to do better, or pieces that I from the start knew didn’t fit me. If you run by your head, not your heart I recommend not to even get pieces like that -unless they’re really cheap. But if the piece looks good, material comfortable and clean I say go for it. Because it’s stayed good for this long means it most likely will stay like it for a long time in future. Unfortunately it’s the same thing with stains on vintage, if there’s a stain on it, it can most likely mean that it’s been there the whole time and is not getting out.  And for vintage virgins, the smell never really gets out of them. So you need to think about it before hand if you’ll ever wear thing that doesn’t smell like your modern clothes.

(photo sources: gothamist.com, filmreference.com, mmimageslarge.moviemail-online.co.uk and i.bp.blogspot.com)

xxx

Juliet

Any vintage lovers out there?

Standard

11 thoughts on “How to take care of vintage

  1. Great tips!! I think the only vintage clothes I bought are from Ebay and I hardly wore them anymore becuase I made a mistake of washing them with other colors! Silly me! xoxoxxoo

  2. It's a really beautiful post! Loving 'vintage' films :)Thanks for stopping by and for your lovely commentKissesLara

  3. love love love Vintage. Not huge vintage-shoes fan, but blouses, dresses…And yes, totally DIY projects if you pay a good low price of something..

  4. Definitely try to hand wash!! I had to pass with a few vintage pieces after throwing them into the machine….bad bad idea. Sadly, the pieces are not easily replaceable.

Leave a Reply

